Home Cricket SriLanka vs West Indies Match Preview

SriLanka vs West Indies Match Preview


Legendary batsman Chris Gayle received his much-anticipated call-up for the upcoming T20I series between the West Indies and Sri Lanka. The veteran batsman who last played for the Men in Maroon in 2019 will spearhead the formidable batting lineup of the Windies in the series opener of the five-match T20I rubber against Sri Lanka at the Coolidge Cricket Ground on Thursday.

Already in the twilight phase of his iconic white-ball career, Gayle is expected to play the upcoming T20I series as dress rehearsals for the ICC T20 World Cup hosted by India in 2021. Besides the 41-year-old self-proclaimed Universe Boss, the West Indies think tank has also recalled speed merchant Fidel Edwards and veteran all-rounder Dwayne Bravo for the five-match T20I series against The Islanders.

Star all-rounder Andre Russell has been also named in the Windies squad. For the visitors, all-rounder Angelo Mathews will lead the Sri Lankan side in the Caribbean as the seasoned campaigner was appointed the stand-in skipper after Dasun Shanaka was left stranded due to a visa issue.

Here’s all you need to know about the West Indies vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I match:
When and what time will West Indies vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I match begin?

The West Indies vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I match will begin at 03.30 AM IST on Thursday (March 04, 2021). The toss will take place half-an-hour early at 03:00 AM IST.

Which channel will telecast West Indies vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I match in India?
Unfortunately, the West Indies vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I match will not be aired live on any TV channel in India.

How to watch the live streaming of the West Indies vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I match?
The West Indies vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I match can be streamed live on FanCode App.

What are the likely playing XIs of the West Indies vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I match?

West Indies: Evin Lewis, Lendl Simmons/Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Nicholas Pooran, Kieron Pollard (c), Fabian Allen, Jason Holder, Dwayne Bravo, Fidel Edwards, Obed McCoy, Alzarri Joseph.

Sri Lanka: Danushka Gunathilaka, Oshada Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Angelo Mathews (c), Thisara Perera, Kamindu Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep, Akila Dananjaya.